Bottle Shaped Candle

September 18, 2008 at 2:00 pm Leave a comment

Good idea in theory, bad idea for moi.
I saw this tutorial over on Threadbanger & I thought I’d give it a go.

So here is my not-so-lovely creation that I am not so proud of. Melting the wax was terribly messy, since I didn’t just “straight up melt it in a pan”, I had an old jesus candle that you buy for a dollar at Stop & Shop, burn it once, and it never lights again. Because it was glass, I used the double boiler method. Bad idea. The pretty red glass is just cheapo red paint that flakes off and sticks to everything when exposed to hot water. I should’ve guessed, it was a buck.

After I poured the wax, inserted the wick, & put it carefully in the fridge, it cooled. And settled. Which meant I had to melt MORE wax. Oh happy days. So a few hours later this bad boy is ready to be broken open. I thought beer bottles were a lot easier to break. Also, the bottom is uneven because…I used a beer bottle? I don’t know, but I thought the whole process sucked.

So here’s my advice to anyone who wants to try this:
1. You need more wax than you think.
2. You probably shouldn’t use a beer bottle.
3. Don’t waste your time.

I think I’ll stick to sewing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mesh Soap Bag Fabric wall decals

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’m Reading

Photobucket

What I’m Reading With Tatyana

Photobucket
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Recent Posts