My sewing stash

February 23, 2009 at 4:02 pm Leave a comment

There is a sewing world of wonder over at Sew, Mama, Sew!. If you haven’t checked them out yet, please do it right now!
They are on the tail end of fat quarter month, which was amazing, giving a new FQ idea(& tutorials!) each day. SMS has become a daily routine for me, right up there with checking my email & sewing.

A little off subject, that will get right back on subject:
Saturday night driving home from our friend’s house, I saw a pretty set of buckets on shelves 2 houses down from ours. So we parked our car & I made Joe carry them home with me. They are in excellent condition & a little soap and water made them perfect. Joe asked where I was planning on putting them, since our apartment is so tiny. I said “I’ll figure it out” and we went to bed. They fit perfectly in my sewing area (after I removed the ugly gray tote my fabric was once in), and now I am very pleased with my “new”, superly organized sewing area.

That brings me back to SMS…
On February 4th the had a post called “Tell us about your stash!”. I wanted to, but was embarrased of the completely unorganized dump my sewing area had become. But now it is awesome &  now I’m going to answer the SMS questions! Yay! (sorry that was a long intro ;))

What do you usually sew?
I usually sew bags, I repair a lot of things for friends, & I’ve been known to sew some stuffies.
When you shop for fabric, what size cuts do you usually buy? (i.e. If you see something beautiful, but you don’t have a use for it right away, how much do you buy?)
Since my budget is pretty tight, I only purchase what I need.

Do you buy on impulse or do you go out looking for something you need?
Again, it’s usually just when I need it. Since I am very big on upcycling old clothes, I rarely ever “need” new fabric.

Are you a pre-washer? If you are, do you wash your fabric before you need it, or only when you’re ready to use it?
I prewash when I need it.

Do you iron it?
My iron is my best friend when sewing.

How do you sort it? (color, print size, collection, etc.)
I have no certain way of sorting. Small cuts (like FQ & half yards) are all in the colorful bins, larger cuts & clothing are on the shelves, & scraps are in the black bins sorted by small scraps, medium scraps, & large scraps.

Do you have any special folding techniques?
Everything in the bins is folded in quarters, then in thirds, then tucked into the ends.

How do you store your fabric?
Bins & shelves.
new-11

What tips do you have for building up a well-rounded stash?
Um, I don’t think I have a well rounded stash at all. So, I’m tipless.

When do you say enough is enough?
Never! (or, when your boyfriend says “Honey, you need to make something before you accept anymore clothes from your friends”)

What are some of your favorite stash-busting projects?
I love making little makeup bags. And yoyos!

Do you have a current favorite print in your stash? Let’s see it!
My current favorite print is the Alexander Henry print I just used. Afternoon Delight. Unfortunately I only have a few big scraps left of it 😦
il_430xn_55852391

What’s your definition of the perfect stash? (Consider sharing a picture or two of your stash & storage, or direct us to a pic on Flickr!)
One that is neat, fabric is easily accesible & visible, and has lots of pretty fabrics! Like this one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finished my necklace! Fancy Card Case

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’m Reading

Photobucket

What I’m Reading With Tatyana

Photobucket
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Recent Posts