Spring Top Week

April 27, 2009 at 8:15 pm Leave a comment

It’s Spring Top Week over at Made By Rae, which is perfect really, since I have been trying to make a top for about a week now with no sucess. First I tried to make a variation of this dress, and although the bust came out perfectly (following the how-to), the rest kind of just fell apart. I tried adding sleeves, which wasn’t so great. Straps are do-able, sleeves were not. It just didn’t look right. Then I tried to make a Spring Ruffle Top following this tutorial, and it came out super big on me (I followed the directions to a tee!) so I threw it in my “I’ll maybe fix this someday” pile & searched for a more figure flattering top that I could make in light fabrics & maybe be able to alter if I like it a lot, so I can make a lot of the same shirt.

Of course, this usually means buying a pattern. Free plus-size patterns are few and far between. So I headed on over to BurdaStyle, where I fell in love with the Shakira dress.

BurdaStyle

BurdaStyle

This dress can easily be altered into a tunic, and if I make it in nice airy fabrics, it will be the best spring top, ever!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My visit to the Original Sewing & Quilting Expo AND The Best T-Shirt Recon EVER! Princess Jasmine Sundress

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What I’m Reading

Photobucket

What I’m Reading With Tatyana

Photobucket
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts